After Abuse: Resources to Guide Missourians with Disabilities is possible through a grant from the Missouri Developmental Disabilities Council.

Funding for this project is provided by the Missouri Developmental Disabilities Council (MODDC), Grants #1801MOBSDD Seq. No.: 2018 / 4, #1901MOSCDD-02, #2001MOSCDD-02 and as authorized by Public Law 106-402 –Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000 (DD Act).

The After Abuse Project was made for people with disabilities and their allies by professionals in the field of victim advocacy and services, in collaboration with the disability community. 

Special Thanks

The University of Missouri-Kansas City Institute for Human Development would like to thank the following individuals and groups that contributed to the development of this After Abuse: Resources for Missourians with Disabilities project:

Agency Representatives

  • Leslie Albrecht – Adult Protective Services Investigator, Mo. Dept. Of Health and Human Services  
  • Caleb Brashear – Detective, Clay County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Gary Jackson – Bailiff, Circuit Court (St. Louis)
  • Sarah Spruill – Adult Protective Services Specialist, Mo. Dept. Of Health and Human Services   
  • Kathleen Tofall, VOCA Fiscal Officer/ Former Court Advocate – Missouri Association of Prosecuting Attorneys (MAPA) 

Other Credits

  • Gabe Bartholome – Video production – UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Melissa Clark – Director of Communications, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Anna Frontaura – Graphic design, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Forrest Lowry – Narration
  • Ward Mankin – Video animation, nFocusmedia
  • Melinda Ray – Editor, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Amelia Reighard – Lead author, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Julie Petty – Subject matter expert
  • Julie Salih – Narration and support actor
  • Jane St. John – Lead author, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Madeline Webster – Lead author, UMKC-Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Christopher Robin Judson Worth – Featured actor and self-advocate

Advisory Board

  • Becky Beck – DeafLEAD
  • Caitlin Carr – The Arc – St. Louis
  • Beatrice Church – DeafLEAD
  • Barb Gross – Missouri Behavior Consulting, LLC
  • Dawn Henshall – Easterseals Midwest
  • Meghan LaMarche – UMKC – Institute for Human Development (UCEDD)
  • Corrine Liedtke – DeafLEAD
  • Ashley Pappineau – DeafLEAD
  • Heidi Rich – DeafLEAD
  • Maggie Rollwagon – Abilities First – Greene County
  • Sue Shaw – The Arc – St. Louis
  • Ashlea Whaley – Missouri Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence